BettyBlaze #Tech #Gaming #Owning@ Life

BettyBlaze aka ={DMG}=Girlswguns findings on Gaming, Tech, Social Media, MMa ish things. Snarky comments, insightful bashings, help, opinions, news, tips, reviews, laughs & guides for the lazy, supersmart, and technically challenged

Problems Downloading & installing exe/binary software apps w/ Windows xp, Firefox?

As an internet junkie, I have to have my apps/addons/widgets and software updates. Everything was going fine for me until what I thought was the last firefox update.  Suddenly, I wasn’t able to download and install all the software and apps so smoothly. I may have messed with some settings in my windows firewall or security but I am pretty sure that the only thing I adjusted the protection level (raised it slightly).

Before the last firefox version I had a few problems with downloads but it always seemed to be fixed by opting to download programs with bitcommet.  It’s slightly tragic (for me anyways) that  the newest version of firefox is not compatible with bitcommet. After the update I started seeing a few different errors. Sometimes, I wouldn’t even get to initiate the download. Sometimes the download would complete and I would get an error saying it wasn’t allowed or windows does not recognize this file.

Sometimes the problems were overcomed by going to the properties box and simply choosing unblock. I moved my download folder,  went through the firewall and security settings and still mostly problems. Anyways this problem became a thorn in my side.  I’m writing about this because maybe it will help save you time if some similar problems come your way.  Anyway, I will save you the nerd rage infused hoopla and get to the point.

If your having similar problems it could be your browser, your micro soft security settings or firewall settings, file type setting or mis naming, or a problem with your internet explorer setting.

The  whole reason for my agitation is my failed attempts at getting my cnet tracker to download and install on my win XP pro OS. I thought simply adding cnet.com and download.com and the entire domains to the allowed sites under the XP security settings/firewall but NOOOO.  So, if that doesn’t work for you and unblocking doesn’t work check these links and  work through it by process of elimination. Take my advice and check out this micro soft support page ( re: reseting internet explorer settings ) first.  http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737

If that still doesn’t work and your using mozilla firefox head over to this link and may the force be with you:

http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Unable+to+download+or+save+files?s=EXE%20DOWNLOADS%20NOT%20WORKING
If it is a problem with file types and managing/ identifying  file types these links may be useful

http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Managing+file+types Manage file types in mozilla

https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Properly_Configuring_Server_MIME_Types#What_are_MIME_types.3F Configuring file types

http://www.iana.org/assignments/media-types/index.html list of registered MIME file types

http://www.file-extensions.org/ plethora of crap regarding all file extensions.

2 comments on “Problems Downloading & installing exe/binary software apps w/ Windows xp, Firefox?

  1. JimmyBean
    October 1, 2009

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Like

  2. Jenny
    April 23, 2010

    Late to the show I guess! It is nice to find a blog with some substance. Anyway, just wanted to add that I use http://www.dotwhat.net which may also help. keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Flickr Photos

lost

Cimitero San Michele

Stump Lake Star Trail

More Photos

No upcoming events

